--- title: "Field Update on Complete/Reject" slug: "field-update-on-competereject" updated: 2024-01-25T18:48:35Z published: 2024-01-25T18:48:35Z canonical: "wiki.cobblestonesoftware.com/field-update-on-competereject" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://wiki.cobblestonesoftware.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Field Update on Complete/Reject ### **Field Update on Complete/Reject** **Field Updates on Complete/Reject** This page is a continuation of the **Task Creation & Management** page, but the information here can also be used independently/for existing Workflow. When Editing an existing Workflow Task, an additional module labeled **Field Updates Associated With (Task Title)** displays. Designate Field Updates that occur when the Task is Completed or Rejected in this area. Click **Add New Update** to add an update. ![Field Updates Managing](https://cdn.document360.io/e3626857-1fb5-4e27-b278-2d3fc5508be4/Images/Documentation/Wiki%20Unit%203%20Workflow%20Task%20Field%20Updates%20With%20Statuses%20with%20red%20box(1).png) Designate whether the Update is for when the Task is Completed or when the Task is Rejected. Then, select the **Field** that is being Updated. After selecting the Field, the pop-up will reload to allow you to designate the new **Value**. In the example above, we set the Task to Update the Status to Active if Completed, or to Update the Status to Declined if Rejected. Use the **Delete** or **Edit** buttons to Delete or Edit the Field Updates. ![Showing Field Updates for Workflow](https://cdn.document360.io/e3626857-1fb5-4e27-b278-2d3fc5508be4/Images/Documentation/Wiki%20Unit%203%20Workflow%20Task%20Field%20Updates%20With%20Statuses%20And%20Multiple%20Rejected%20Results(1).png) Please note that field updates are not limited to one of each. When handling multi-step Workflow, a good general practice is to use multiple Workflow Records, where the initial Workflow will Update a Field so that the new Value is a Criteria of the next Workflow, triggering it. This can be repeated until the Workflow is complete. A User Defined Status can appear in the Task Side Menu, even if it is not set to Show On Grid if it is a Task Result for a workflow.